Presidents of Gettysburg College

1834-1850 Charles Philip Krauth

1850-1868 Henry Lewis Baugher

1868-1884 Milton Valentine - Class of 1850

1884-1904 Harvey Washington McKnight - Class of 1865

1904-1910 Samuel Gring Hefelbower - Class of 1891

1910-1923 William Anthony Granville

1923-1952 Henry William Andrew Hanson

1952-1955 Walter Consuelo Langsam

1956-1961 Willard Stewart Paul

1961-1977 Carl Arnold Hanson

1977-1988 Charles Etzweiler Glassick

1990-2004 Gordon A. Haaland

2004-2008 Katherine Haley Will

2009-Present Janet Morgan Riggs '77

Biographical information is from “Gettysburg College,” a pictorial history by Prof. Michael J. Birkner in collaboration with David Crumplar, A Salutary Influence: Gettysburg College, 1832-1985 by Prof. Charles H. Glatfelter, and other sources.