Hardy's World

The Novels of Thomas Hardy

Approximately one half of Hardy's sixty-year literary career was devoted to the novel. From 1871 until 1897, Hardy wrote fifteen novels, fourteen of which were published. His first novel, The Poor Man and the Lady, never found a publisher, and Hardy eventually burned the manuscript.

Below is a list of Hardy's novels with their dates of publication. For further bibliographic information, along with photographs of sites associated with each novel, click on the novel's title.