Physics Department faculty seek to present each of their students with a clear and cohesive picture of what the study of physics entails, and what makes Gettysburg outstanding among college physics programs.

Each faculty member serves to enable students to actively assume responsibility for and control of their studies with thorough information about what demands, opportunities, and rewards to anticipate here and after graduation. 

Sort By: Rank | Alphabetical
  • Sharon L. Stephenson
    Chairperson/Sahm Professor of Physics, Physics
    Academic Focus: Nuclear Structure Physics
  • Timothy N. Good
    Ronald J. Smith Professor of Applied Physics, Physics
  • Bret E. Crawford
    Professor, Physics
  • Kurt Andresen
    Associate Professor, Physics
    Academic Focus: Electrostatics in biological systems, small-angle x-ray scattering, biological polyelectrolytes (DNA, RNA, nucleosomes)
  • Jacquelynne B. Milingo
    Associate Professor, Physics
  • Ryan Edward Johnson
    Assistant Professor, Physics
    Academic Focus: Observational astronomy, multiwavelength observations and interpretations of galaxy clusters
  • James G. Puckett
    Assistant Professor, Physics
    Academic Focus: Soft condensed matter physics
  • Yoshihiro Sato
    Assistant Professor, Physics
    Academic Focus: Theoretical and Computational Physics
  • Ian R. Clarke
    Laboratory Instructor II and Director of Hatter Planetarium, Physics
  • John Bryson
    Laboratory Instructor, Physics
  • Craig Foltz
    Laboratory Instructor, Physics
    Academic Focus: Extragalactic Astronomy, Astronomical Instrumentation, Science Policy
  • Gary Hummer
    Electronics Technician, Physics
  • Kristi Waybright
    Academic Administrative Assistant, Physics