Alumni Awards

2017 award winners
2017 Meritorious Service and Young Alumni Achievement Award Winners.
From left to right: President Janet Morgan Riggs '77, Fred Reimer '07, Mac Jones '67, Sarah Hitch Burdi '87 and Alumni Association Board of Directors President Marsha Hoffman Comegno '94

The Alumni Association presents several awards each year in an effort to recognize and honor outstanding alumni.

Nominate an alumna or alumnus for an award.

Nominations for the 2018 awards are due Friday, November 10, 2017.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards honor a maximum of four people each year for their professional and/or civic accomplishments post-Gettysburg. It's basically our "Alumni Hall of Fame," and includes people like Nobel Laureate Michael Bishop '57, UNICEF Executive Dir. Carol Bellamy '63 and Academy-Award nominated cinematographer Owen Roizman '58.  The awards are given during Commencement Weekend. 

The Meritorious Service Awards honor two people each year for their volunteer contributions to the College over a significant period of time.

The Young Alumni Achievement Awards honor four "Young Alumni", defined as those who graduated within the last 15 years, for professional achievement in the areas of Career Development and Service to Gettysburg College.

The Phyllis Hicks Utterback Silent Leader Award was awarded to Rich Swartz at the February 2014 Alumni Board of Director's meeting.  Pictured to the right are Charlie Scott '75, Alumni Association Board President, and Rich Swartz.