Certification in Other States

Teacher Certification in Other States

Certificates issued by the Pennsylvania Department of Education are recognized in a number of states either through interstate agreements or through the compatibility of Gettysburg's teacher preparation programs with requirements for certification in those states. Persons wishing to teach in other states may be required to take additional tests or complete additional coursework in order to do so. Information on particular states may be available in the Education Department; however, requirements are subject to change without notice and students should contact the Department of Education of the state in which certification is sought for current information. Also, the College of Education at the University of Kentucky maintains a Teacher Certification By State website that provides links to certification agencies in all fifty states. Gettysburg College is not affiliated with the website nor does it guarantee any of the information contained there; search at your own risk.

If you are considering teaching in a state other than Pennsylvania we advise you to begin investigating the requirements for certification in that state as soon as you begin your program. You will also want to stay in close contact with your Education Advisor, as he or she will be able to provide valuable information to help you navigate the process.

Below is a list of the states with which Pennsylvania currently has interstate certification agreements, including the District of Columbia. This list is, of course, subject to change at any time; you should make appropriate contact with licensing agencies in any state you may consider teaching in to see if the agreement still stands.

Alabama Kansas North Carolina
Alaska Kentucky North Dakota
Arizona Louisiana Ohio
Arkansas Maine Oklahoma
California Maryland Oregon
Colorado Massachusetts Rhode Island
Connecticut Michigan South Carolina
Delaware Mississippi Tennessee
District of Columbia Montana Texas
Florida Nebraska Utah
Georgia Nevada Vermont
Hawaii New Hampshire Virginia
Idaho New Jersey Washington
Illinois New Mexico West Virginia
Indiana New York Wyoming