Donor Appreciation Luncheon

Each spring President Janet Morgan Riggs '77 invites endowed scholarship donors and endowed special fund donors, as well as their respective student recipients to a Presidential Luncheon which honors endowment donors and celebrates student's academic achievements as scholarship recipients. The event offers students an opportunity to say ‘thank you' to endowment fund donors, and to discuss their academic and career aspirations with alumni donors and friends of Gettysburg College.

2012 Donor-Scholar Luncheon

On May 4, 2012 the Donor-Scholar Luncheon was held in the College Union Ballroom to connect donors with the students who benefit from their scholarships and endowed funds.

Opening Remarks


Scholarship Video


Ken Lundeen '66


Beth Adams '12


Leroy Smith '12


Full Program


2011 Donor-Scholar Luncheon

The 2011 Donor-Scholar Luncheon was held on May 7, 2011 in the College Union Ballroom to acknowledge and celebrate those who give and receive endowment funds at Gettysburg College.

2010 Donor-Scholar Luncheon

On April 23rd, 2010, the 2010 Donor-Scholar Luncheon was held in Speciality Dining to celebrate endowed scholarships at Gettysburg College. In addition to celebrating the accomplishments of Gettysburg College's bright, President Janet Morgan Riggs '77 and Nicole Ditillo '10talented, and highly motivated students, the Luncheon also provides the opportunity for students to connect with and thank their benefactors.

Trustee Jean Deimler Seibert '69 P'06 introduced the Janet Morgan Riggs '77 Scholarship, remarking that "Endowed scholarships are a wonderful way to honor a beloved faculty member or revered mentor while offering a unique opportunity to benefit a worthy student."

Nicole M. Ditillo, class of 2010 (pictured right, with President Janet Morgan Riggs '77), a double major in English and Psychology, was recognized for her outstanding achievements in the classroom as well as on the athletic field. In addition to her successes as Captain of the Women's Lacrosse team, she was selected by the College Sports Directors of America (CoSIDA) as an ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American. Additionally, Nicole was recognized by the Gettysburg College Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) as a senior student-athlete holding one of the highest individual GPAs during her sport's season. Nicole gratefully remarked of her years at Gettysburg, "On behalf of all the students who are receiving endowed scholarships, I would like to thank all the donors who help make these experiences possible. We are grateful for your generosity, and I hope that we too will be able to give back in the future."

 Jennifer and Bill Railing with Denitsa Koleva '10

James Brenneman '60, Mary Jane Brenneman '60, Michael Altman '12, Kakra Abbiw-Jackson '11, Lavern Brenneman '36, and Panyin Abbiw-Jackson '11

Bruce M. White, Hilary White, Devan Grote '11, and Barbara Turner White '74

Charles T. Scott '77 P'09 P'12 and Charles A. Scott, Jr. P'77 GP'09 GP'12

2009 Donor-Scholar Luncheon

"Endowed funds make it possible for bright and talented students to attend Gettysburg College to pursue academic studies and their career paths with passion," proclaimed Riggs during 2009's luncheon right before introducing Natasha Gownaris '09.

Natasha was a Presidential Scholar and was awarded the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships during the spring of 2008. This is one of the highest national honors an undergraduate can receive in the fields of natural science, mathematics and engineering. She was also the recipient of a Mellon Grant, and two endowed scholarships, the Jaeger Family Scholarship, and the Richelle Renza Dwight Memorial Scholarship.

Natasha offered her sincere appreciation for her scholarships and expressed that "without scholarship monies, she might not have attended Gettysburg College...[and that all of her past successes and hopes for her future in graduate school] were made possible in part, by the generosity of donors."

Natasha Gownaris '09 with her academic and faculty research advisor, Dr. John Comitto, Professor of Environmental Studies, at the 2009 Donor-Scholar Luncheon.  
Natasha Gownaris '09 with her academic and faculty research advisor, Dr. John Comitto, Professor of Environmental Studies, at the 2009 Donor-Scholar Luncheon.