Entrepreneurial Fellowship

About the Entrepreneurial Fellowship:

The Entrepreneurial Fellowship began in summer 2014. It is administered through the Entrepreneurship and Social Innovation Initiative (E-SII) and supported by gifts from alumni, parents, and friends of the College. The Entrepreneurship and Social Innovation Initiative (E-SII) believes the Summer Entrepreneurial Fellowship fits well within the College’s curriculum, as successful entrepreneurs need to possess critical thinking, writing, and problem solving skills. Our goal is to support students’ interests in entrepreneurship and align them in a liberal arts context. This is accomplished through an innovative curriculum which includes an array of activities for students to gain leadership and entrepreneurial experience. It culminates in a competitive application/selection process during the spring term. As a result, students will be equipped with the necessary skill set to launch their own venture.


To empower students to leverage their liberal arts education in becoming successful entrepreneurs.


To develop an Entrepreneurial Fellowship program that aligns students’ curricular and co-curricular learning. We will facilitate an environment where student venture ideas can be explored, and students can develop experience, connections, and skills to help them view entrepreneurship as a career.


Summer 2016 Recipient

Noah Pompan ‘18 - BOOM

Summer 2016 Recipient

Robert Burch ’17 - Blue Truck


Advisory Council:

Meeting throughout the year, the Advisory Council assists the Entrepreneurship and Social Innovation Initiative (E-SII) in continuously improving the quality of the Summer Entrepreneurial Fellowship. Our members are actual entrepreneurs or professionals holding high-level positions in various industries. Current members include:

  • Bob Allen ’89 (Chair) – Senior Partner, Tango Modem
  • Lauren Celano ’00 – CEO/Propel Careers
  • Paul Haldeman ’67 – President, The Haldeman Dealerships
  • Bill Heyman ’74 – President & CEO, Heyman Associates
  • William Huss ’75 – Faculty Member, Babson College
  • Nick Johnson ’90 - Senior Vice President, Digital Ad Sales Strategy, Turner
  • Eric Malawer ’96 – CEO/DeepMile Networks
  • Charlie Martin ’83 – President, Leistritz Extruder Corporation
  • Paul Nix ’74 – Principal/ Corematrix Systems
  • Tess O'Brien '06 - CEO & Founder (ClearPowerPerks)


For more information contact Entrepreneur-in-Residence Drew Murphy at dmurphy@gettysburg.edu or 717-337-6645.