Alumni Awards

The Alumni Association presents several awards each year in an effort to recognize and honor outstanding alumni.

Nominate an alumna or alumnus for an award.

Nominations for the 2023 Distinguished Alumni, Meritorious Service, and Young Alumni awards are due Friday, November 12, 2022. (Nominations for the 2022 awards were due Friday, November 12, 2021.)

On this page:

Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Alumni Awards honor a maximum of four people each year for their professional and/or civic accomplishments post-Gettysburg. It's basically our “Alumni Hall of Fame” and includes people like Nobel Laureate Michael Bishop ’57, former UNICEF Executive Dir. Carol Bellamy ’63 and Academy-Award winning cinematographer Owen Roizman ’58. The awards are given during Commencement Weekend.

(The 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award winners will be honored in 2021; no nominees were selected for the 2021 DA awards.)

Meritorious Service Awards

The Meritorious Service Awards honor two people each year for their volunteer contributions to the College over a significant period of time.

Young Alumni Achievement Award

The Young Alumni Achievement Awards honor four “Young Alumni," defined as those who graduated within the last 15 years. Two are for Career Development and two are for Service to Gettysburg College.

Learn more about the 2020 and 2021 award recipients.

Lavern H. Brenneman '36 Award

The Lavern H. Brenneman ’36 Award For Exemplary Service to Gettysburg College is presented in recognition of those rare individuals whose distinguished service to Gettysburg College stands head and shoulders above others who have served the institution faithfully. Awardees are selected by the Alumni Board of Directors and the Gettysburg College Board of Trustees.

Phyllis Hicks Utterback Silent Leader Award

The Phyllis Hicks Utterback Silent Leader Award was awarded to Lorna J. Rice ’81 at the February 2020 Alumni Board of Directors meeting.