Bias Awareness Resource Committee

The Bias Awareness Resource Committee (BARC) is committed to supporting a living, learning, and working environment in which all members are respected and their differences are valued. BARC is charged with reviewing bias incident reports and with implementing strategies to educate, to strengthen, and to support the campus community when such incidents occur.

Confronting Racism, Injustice, and Inequality

To confront racism, injustice, and inequality at Gettysburg College, the Bias Awareness Resource Committee (BARC) and Campus Climate Study Implementation Group (CCSIG) joined together to deliver a report of recommendations to help facilitate institutional improvement.

Read “Confronting Racism, Injustice, and Inequality” (PDF)

In a letter to the community, President Bob Iuliano outlined the College’s next steps in advancing this essential work.

Additional information

It is important to note that establishing the BARC does not create a new category of prohibited behavior or new disciplinary or judicial processes.

Alleged bias conduct that may be a violation of College policy by a student will be referred for action through existing disciplinary or judicial procedures. Alleged bias conduct that may be a violation of College policy by a faculty member or staff member will be referred to the Provost or to the Director of Human Resources, respectively.

BARC is in no way a disciplinary body, and its functions are proactive as well as reactive. Thus BARC is charged with developing ways to communicate with and to respond to the community regarding bias incidents and policies, and therefore to strengthen and to support the community at all times, and most especially when bias incidents occur.

Membership Listing:

  • Alexander Russo ’23, Student
  • Alexandros Economou ’22, Student
  • Andrew Hughes, Executive Director of the GLC
  • Anna K. Perry, Student
  • Anya Hanna, Director of Communications and Content Strategy
  • B.J. Dunne, Men’s Basketball Head Coach
  • Barb Jordan, Women’s Head Field Hockey Coach & Women’s Lacrosse Coach
  • Brent Talbot, Associate Professor, Music (Co-chair)
  • Caitlin Lindsay, Assistant Director Student Activities & Greek Life
  • Caroline Hartzell, Professor, Political Science
  • Charles Myers, Associate Professor, Religious Studies
  • Charlotte Cunningham, Assistant Women’s Lacrosse Coach
  • Charlotte Werbe, Assistant Professor, French
  • Christopher Bloom Ford, Assistant Director of Career Engagement
  • Christopher D. Jack, Student
  • Cindy Wright, Director of Campus Recreation
  • Colin P. Hughes, Student
  • Connie Devilbiss, Adjunct Professor Sociology
  • Darrien Davenport, Assistant VP of College Life
  • David Bass, Director of Hillel
  • Diana Mendez ’22, Student
  • Emma Bertrando ’21, Student
  • Faith Biesecker, Assistant Director of Special Operations
  • Giancarlo Emmanuel S. Castillo ’23, Student
  • Ian Murren ’21, Student
  • Isabel Williams ’24, Student
  • Jacqeline Wilkins, Housekeeper
  • Jamie Yates, Executive Director of Communications & Marketing
  • Jeanne Arnold, Chief Diversity Officer (Co-chair)
  • Jeff Foster, Associate Vice President of College Life
  • Jennifer Bloomquist, Associate Provost for Faculty Development
  • Jennifer Lucas, Co-Director of Human Resources
  • Jesse Mains, Coordinator of Institutional Diversity Initiatives
  • Julie Ramsey, Vice President of College Life
  • Justin Letizia, Student
  • Kayode Balogun ’22, Student
  • Kerry Wallach, Associate Professor, German Studies
  • Kevin Park ’22, Student
  • Kristin Haugen ’21, Student
  • Kyle Flagg ’21, Student
  • Lauren Heyer, Student
  • Lucas Toglia, Student
  • Max Pernetti, Student
  • Michael Mattia, Executive Director of Athletics
  • Nadine Meyer, Professor, English
  • Natalie Hinton, Assistant Director of User Services/Library
  • Nora Janzer ’22, Student
  • Obiajuru Ikoro ’21, Student
  • Paige Cook, Assistant Director, Student Activities and Greek Life
  • Paula Trillo, Assistant Professor, Biology
  • Robert Brandell, Men’s Soccer Intern
  • Robert Cole ’21, Student
  • Ron Wiafe, Director of Student Rights and Responsibilities
  • Rose Taylor, Housekeeper
  • Ryan Sipple ’21, Student
  • Stephen Stern, Associate Professor, Judaic Studies
  • Steven Gimbel, Professor, Philosophy
  • Sukky Nd-Ezuma ’23, Student
  • Susan Russell, Associate Professor, WGS
  • Vernon Cisney, Assistant Professor, IDS
  • William Lafferty, Executive Director of Public Safety