Each year, the faculty of the Economics Department selects the recipients of several prestigious awards. The recipients of these awards are chosen by vote, based on their excellence in course work and in departmental projects.

Awards include:

James Boyd Hartzell Award

Established by James Hamilton Hartzell '24 and his wife, Lucretia Irvine Boyd Hartzell; awarded to a junior student majoring in economics or in management for outstanding scholarship and promise in these fields.

Pi Lambda Sigma Award

Created by John Eberhardt Baublitz in honor of his father, John Edgar Baublitz '29, who was the first president of the Gamma Chapter of Pi Lambda Sigma. Awarded to a senior major in economics, a senior major in management, and a senior major in political science. The departmental faculty selects two nominees for the economics recipient.

Dwight Eisenhower Society / R.M. Hoffman Family Memorial Prize in Economics

Created by the R. M. Hoffman Family Memorial Trust through the Dwight D. Eisenhower Society in memory of Gettysburg businessman R. M. Hoffman. Awarded to the student writing the best quantitative paper or project (with public policy implications) in economics.

Best Honors Thesis in Economics

The Economics Department bestows this award on the author of the year's outstanding honors thesis. The recipient receives an awards plaque to commemorate this highest departmental honor. The winner's paper is also the first article published in the Gettysburg Economic Review.