Endowed Annual Prizes & Awards

Muhlenberg First Year Student Prize

Created by Dr. Frederick A. Muhlenberg (1836), to be awarded to the first-year student taking Greek or Latin who attains the highest general quality point average.

Muhlenberg Goodwill Prize

Awarded to a male senior “for growth during formative years at Gettysburg College in awareness of personal responsibility for the welfare of all peoples; for a degree of achievement in same during College years and in the hope of future accomplishment for betterment of Community, State and Nation.”

William F. Muhlenberg Award

Awarded to two juniors on the basis of character, scholarship, and proficiency in campus activities.

J. Rogers Musselman Award

Established by Peter R. Musselman in memory of his father, J. Rogers Musselman, to be awarded to a student majoring in mathematics who is proficient in the study of mathematics during his or her third year of enrollment.

Nicholas Prize in Religious Studies

Created by the Rev. Dr. J.C. Nicholas (1894), to be awarded to the senior who has done the best work in advanced courses in religious studies.

Clair B., Mary E., and Constance Noerr (Baker) Memorial Award

Established by Constance (Noerr) Baker ’58 in memory of her father and mother, to be awarded to a female senior on the basis of proficiency in athletics, scholarship, and character.

Dr. John W. Ostrom Composition Awards

Established by Dr. John W. Ostrom ’26, to be awarded to the student who demonstrates the greatest overall improvement in first-year writing and to the student who demonstrates consistent excellence in English 201.

Dr. John W. Ostrom English Award

Created by Dr. John W. Ostrom ’26, to be awarded to the student who has written the best expository essay for an upper level English course.

Anthony di Palma Memorial Award

Established by the family of Anthony di Palma ‘56, to be awarded to the junior having the highest marks in history. Other things being equal, preference is given to a member of Sigma Chi fraternity.

Keith Pappas Memorial Award

Given as a memorial to Keith Pappas ’74, an honors graduate who made an extraordinary contribution to the life of this College and its people. Awarded to a current student who most significantly affects the College community through the quality of his or her participation in its functions and whose divergent contributions give form to what is called Gettysburg College.

Elizabeth Headley Paul ’64 Memorial Scholarship

Talent scholarship awarded to a student(s) who seeks to earn a degree through the Sunderman Conservatory of Music; either a Bachelor of Arts in Music, Bachelor of Music or Bachelor of Music Education. If, in any given year, there is a qualified student(s) who is focused on the keyboard/piano, that student(s) will be given preference. Carries an award of up to $8,000 per year. Renewable annually based on satisfactory advancement in a music degree program, progress in private study, and satisfactory grade point average. Audition required.

Jeffrey Pierce Memorial Award

Established in honor of Jeffrey Pierce ’71, to be awarded to a male senior who has reached the highest level of achievement in the field of history.

Martha Ellen Sachs Prize

Created by John E. Haas in memory of his aunt, a lecturer at the College, to be awarded to a student exhibiting excellence in English composition, with consideration given to improvement made during the year.

Emile O. Schmidt Award

Established by students, friends, audience members, and colleagues of Emile Schmidt, professor of English and theatre at Gettysburg College, 1962–1999. Award is presented each year to a theatre student for scholarly excellence and distinguished service to the Gettysburg College theatre program, as well as professional promise.

Henry Schneider III Endowed Award in German Studies

Established by Katherine Perrine Schneider in honor of her late husband, Henry Schneider III, Chairman of the German Department at Gettysburg College from 1964-1981; the Award is presented on spring Honors Day with first preference to a senior German major who plans to teach German in middle or high school, or plans to study German in graduate school.

Captain Michael D. Scotton (1982) Award

Established by David R. and Sally R. Scotton, parents of Michael D. Scotton, to be awarded to a junior who demonstrates a high degree of extracurricular activity and diligence in his or her academic work.

Senior Scholarship Prize

Established by the Class of 1996 and Mr. Robert Stockberger ’33, to be presented annually to two rising seniors who best exemplify Gettysburg College through academics and service to the campus community. The Senior Scholarship Prize Fund is augmented with future senior class gifts.

Shaffer Prize in Classical Studies

Established from funds of the estate of Mary M. Shaffer, to be awarded in memory of Dr. William Frederick Shaffer, Franklin Professor of Greek, 1946–62, to a senior who has demonstrated outstanding achievement and promise in Greek, Latin, or Classics.

Stine Chemistry Prize

Created by Dr. Charles M. A. Stine ’01, to be awarded to a senior chemistry major on the basis of grades in chemistry, laboratory technique, personality, general improvement in four years, and proficiency in chemistry at the time of selection.

Earl Kresge Stock Writing Prizes

Established by Earl Kresge Stock ’19, to be awarded to the three students who write the classroom papers judged best in the areas of the humanities, the sciences, and the social sciences.