Board of Trustees Meeting Update – May 11, 2018

I am writing to provide you with some highlights that I thought would be of particular interest from our recent Trustees’ meeting.

 First, the Board approved the Freedom of Expression Philosophy Statement that was voted on and approved by the faculty and Student Senate. I’d like to thank Jen Bloomquist, chair of the Working Group, and members Jeff Foster, Ivanova Reyes, Hakim Williams, and Patrick McKenna ’20, along with Trustees Jim Banks and Jeff Oak, for their efforts in leading such a thorough and inclusive process over the past year. Our discussions have been educational and thought-provoking, and our community will benefit from having this statement to guide our policy- and decision-making related to freedom of expression.

The Board also voted to rescind the honorary degree given to Bill Cosby in 1997.  Their vote was based on a policy regarding honorary degree rescission that they adopted two years ago.

As part of a continuing series to inform the Board about special programs and opportunities at Gettysburg College, members of the CPS staff provided an excellent presentation on their mission and programs.

Jim Chemel was thanked and celebrated for his five years as Chair of the Board, and David Brennan ’75, P’00 was elected to succeed him beginning on June 1. Charlie Scott ’77, P’09, P’12 was elected as Executive Vice Chair, Mary Claire Lagno P’12 and Jeff Oak ’81 were elected Vice Chairs, and Jeff Siegfried ’81, P’14 was elected Secretary.

The Board also welcomed Sherrin Hilburt Baky-Nessler ‘65 and the late Bruce Baky ‘65 into the Benefactors Circle with the placement of their names on our Benefactors Wall.  We also dedicated the new Fourjay Welcome Center and celebrated the gifts of Geoff ‘91 and Gretchen Jackson, Bruce Chamberlin ‘86, and Jim ‘60 and Mary Jane ‘60 Brenneman in support of the addition to and renovation of our Admissions Building.  We are grateful to these generous donors, each of whom support Gettysburg College in numerous ways.

As I said at our campus meeting on Wednesday, I am grateful for the efforts of all of you who contributed to a very successful 2017-18 academic year.  Thank you!