PercussionThe Sunderman Conservatory of Music Percussion Ensemble performs a wide variety of literature, including works by seminal composers such as John Cage, Steve Reich, Alan Hovhannes, Lou Harrison, and George Crumb. The group has also premiered new music by world percussionist and composer N. Scott Robinson.

The Percussion Ensemble is directed by Instructor of Percussion Jonathan Bisesi, and includes percussion majors and minors from the Sunderman Conservatory, as well as other instrumentalists and vocalists, and students with appropriate experience who are majoring outside of music. The ensemble rehearses for two hours each week, and performs each semester. Rehearsals and performances are held in Gettysburg's historic Majestic Theater.

The Percussion Ensemble has performed with a number of other Gettysburg College groups, including the Conservatory Orchestra, Wind Symphony, and Jazz Ensemble; the Gettysburg Gamelan; and the Bollywood-Bhangra Dance Ensemble. Guest artists have included N. Scott Robinson, K.S. Resmi, and Babatunde Lea.

Works recently programmed by the Percussion Ensemble include:

  • IV - Johanna Magdalena Beyer
  • Akadinda Trio - Emmanuel Séjourné
  • Bolero - Maurice Ravel, arr. Brett Carvolth and Claire Deborde
  • Children’s Songs - Chick Corea, arr. David Steinquest
  • Clapping Music - Steve Reich
  • Clapping Music Variations - Glenn Kotche
  • Dance Music for Elfrid Ide - John Cage
  • Daybreak - Jack Stamp
  • Dining Room Music - Rupert Kettle
  • Elusive One - Steve Pemberton
  • Fanfare for Tambourines - John Alfieri
  • Forever and Sunsmell - John Cage
  • ¿Ghanaba Celebration - N. Scott Robinson
  • Gymel - William Duckworth
  • In Praise of Johnny Appleseed - Lou Harrison
  • Le Papillon - Richard LeVan
  • Mitsue - John Wyre
  • Music for Pieces of Wood -Steve Reich
  • October Mountain - Alan Hovhaness
  • On the Woodpile - Harry Breuer, arr. Karen Ervin Pershing
  • Pacific Sirens - Robert Erickson
  • Pling IV - Axel Fries
  • Taiko Night - Daniel William Boothe
  • The Hat Don't Talk - David Mancini
  • Unto the Hills (All the Pretty Little Horses, Ten Thousand Miles, Down in the Valley/Hush Little Baby) - George Crumb
  • Wart Hog #3 - Austin Wrinkle