Distinguished Teaching Award

The award for Distinguished Teaching is the highest honor that the faculty can bestow on a colleague. The winner of this award is selected annually by the Faculty Development Committee. The call is published on the College Digest by mid-February, and the award is presented at Commencement.

2019 – Scott Hancock, Associate Professor of Africana Studies and History

2018 – William D. Bowman, Johnson Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Humanities and Professor of History

2017 – Shirley Anne Warshaw, Harold G. Evans Professor of Eisenhower Leadership Studies, Political Science

2016 – Joseph Grzybowski, G. Bowers and Louise Hook Mansdorfer Professor of Chemistry

2015 – Michael Birkner ’72, P’10, Franklin Professor of the Liberal Arts, Professor of History

2014 – Jean L. Potuchek, Professor of Sociology

2013 – John Commito, Professor of Environmental Studies

2012 – Suzanne Johnson Flynn, Associate Professor of English

2011 – Robert Viti, Professor of French

2010 – Charlotte Armster, Associate Professor of German

2009 – William E. Parker, Professor of Chemistry

2008 – Judith A. Brough, Professor of Education

2007 – Peter J. Pella, Professor of Physics

2006 – Daniel R. DeNicola, Provost and Professor of Philosophy

2005 – Derrick K. Gondwe, Professor of Economics (Awarded Posthumously)

2004 – Janet M. Powers, Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies and Women’s Studies

2003 – Kenneth F. Mott, Professor of Political Science

2002 – Robert S. Fredrickson, Professor of English

2001 – Ralph A. Sorensen, Professor of Biology

2000 – Lisa Portmess, Professor of Philosophy

1999 – Paul R. D’Agostino, Professor of Psychology

1998 – Laurence Marschall, Professor of Physics

1997 – Alex T. Rowland, Professor of Chemistry and

1997 – Emile O. Schmidt, Professor of English (Theatre Arts)

1996 – Edward J. Baskerville, Professor of English

1995 – Chan L. Coulter, Professor of Philosophy

1994 – A. Ralph Cavaliere, Professor of Biology

1993 – Michael J. McTighe, Associate Professor of Religion (Awarded Posthumously)

1992 – Gareth V. Biser, Associate Professor of Health and Physical Education

1991 – Ann Harper Fender, Professor of Economics

1990 – Leonard I. Holder, Professor of Mathematics